Monday, October 17, 2005

Last week, John Grisham announced the 2005 National Book Award Finalists in an outdoor ceremony at Rowan Oak, William Faulkner's Mississippi home. Winners wil be announced at the 56th annual National Book Awards dinner and ceremony in New York City on November 16th. Congratulations to the five finalists in each category.

- Fiction: "The March" by E.L. Doctorow; "Veronica" by Mary Gaitskill; "Trance" by Christopher Sorrentino; "Holy Skirts" by Rene' Steinke; and "Europe Central" by William T. Vollmann

- Non-fiction: "Out of Eden: An Odyssey of Ecological Invasion" by Alan Burdick; "Jean Jacques Rousseau: Restless Genius" by Leo Damrosch; "The Year of Magical Thinking" by Joan Didion; "102 Minutes: The Untold Story of the Fight to Survive Inside the Twin Towers" by Jim Dwyer and Kevin Flynn; and "Bury the Chains: Prophets and Rebels in the Fight to Free an Empire's Slaves" by Adam Hochschild

- Poetry: "Where Shall I Wander" by John Ashbery; "Star Dust: Poems" by Frank Bidart; "Habitat: New and Selected Poems, 1965-2005" by Brendan Galvin; "Migration: New and Selected Poems" by W.S. Merwin; and "The Moment's Equation" by Vern Rutsala

- Young People's Literature: "The Penderwicks" by Jeanne Birdsall; "Where I Want to Be" by Adele Griffin; "Inexcusable" by Chris Lynch; "Autobiography of My Dead Brother" by Walter Dean Myers; and "Each Little Bird That Sings" by Deborah Wiles


Post a Comment

<< Home